I’m writing a dataviz book

Today I am starting work on a major new project, writing a book on data visualisation for the CRC-ASA series on statistical reasoning in science and society. There are several excellent dataviz books out there but I’m excited to be adding something new. This will be a brief, affordable overview that does not assume any previous training in statistics, or design, or coding. A lot of techniques will get described, but rather than just a baffling gallery, I want to make this a tour that shows the reader how to think through the options critically and justify their choices.

20161004_154109

Procrastinating by taking a selfie in my secret hideout

The series should be a great collection for just this reason. More people than ever before have to work with data, and not all are experts or intend to be. I was inspired by the popularity of short, simple books on various business topics that you see in airport & railway station bookshops, and hope to provide something like that. I picture as my readers the manager in charge of risk analysis at a credit card company, or starting up a new modeling department in an insurance company, or the charity boss who wants to know what to ask for from the design team so their publications are more compelling (with apologies to any friends who see their own images there). You won’t see this in bookshops for a little while, but I’ll keep you posted on progress.

2 Comments

Filed under learning, noticeboard, Visualization

2 responses to “I’m writing a dataviz book

  1. Erin Hodgess

    Sounds great! Hope it’s ready soon.

  2. giampaolo

    That’s Great news, Robert.
    I’ve admired your dataviz works, results and presentations in the last three years and I’m convinced that your book is much needed.
    I can’t wait for it!

Leave a Reply

