Selfie City

I don’t really know what to say about this magnum opus in image processing, interactive graphics, geotagging, face recognition &c &c. It certainly is impressive, though after messing about with the controls I’m not sure I was any wiser about different cultural norms for expression and the semiotics of the selfie. But I was totally creeped out by all these people looking at me. Except for the guys aged around 40, with whom I felt a natural affinity. In this group, a global bond of regressing to teenage goofing around, pretending to be a gangsta, and most universally of all, failing to use the camera properly, emerges.

That looks familiar

That looks familiar

Looks to me from a quick squizz through the source code that it’s entirely built in D3. Impressive.

Thank you to Information Aesthetics for spotting it.

Leave a comment

Filed under JavaScript, Visualization

Leave a Reply

