Everything you ever wanted to know about data visualization

I’ve just uploaded the slides of a talk on “Visualising Data: trends, technology and attempts at guidelines” here. I was going to be giving it to researcher colleagues today but now it will be next month instead. I have tried to pull together lots of examples to inspire everyone to stretch themselves into trying some new stuff. Increasingly I find myself convinced that, to keep up with the latest stuff and produce some really slick online outputs, you need to know a little JavaScript. So that is my next mission.

There’s some detail in there about audiblization / sonification too. That’s an area I’d be really interesting in exploring, maybe convene a working party to come up with guidance and priorities for experimentation, with statisticians, web designers, musicians, psychologists and sound artists all represented round the table. That had better be mission #2.

Leave a Reply

